Flikr Lesson

Mockingbird on a wireMockingbird on a wire | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

We are reading To Kill a Mockingbird in class right now. I would publish this picture and have the students blog on why this particular picture serves as an appropriate symbol for the novel. I would have them respond in a post of at least 250 words and include support from the text.

(2009, April 9). Mockingbird on a wire. Charles Bell. Retrieved February 14, 2012, from http://www.flickr.com/photos/cbellh47/3441768771/

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Flikr Lesson

  1. Denise Krefting

    What a nice connection between the image and the book. 🙂 I would be interested in their thoughts.

  2. I love this book, and I love how you would use flickr to discuss symbolism! What a great idea. I am sure the students would be able to make great connections.

  3. Excellent use of images. Your image adds value, it is not just used to make a page look pretty.

  4. nwdamico

    Honestly, I wouldn’t recognize a mockingbird if it perched on my finger! This is a simple way to draw attention to the central image–and make the image literally meaningful!

  5. Kelly Boushell

    Patti,
    I love that book, even though it makes me cry! I love the imagery connection of the bird and the book. Wow, when you think about it several images from the story could be used to stimulate discussions. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

