Mr. Miller’s Blog

I recently visited a fellow English teacher’s blog. I found so many great things going on in that classroom. One particular blogging project I liked involved the kids identifying the theme of  a dystopian novel within the first few pages. My students struggle with theme. I’m not sure why, but many of them do. I liked this project because it asked students to blog the theme they see developing within the first few pages. They had to explain why they thought it was a theme and support their ideas with a passage from the text. I like the idea of the students exploring the theme of the novel as they read it. These are the meaningful types of lessons I am looking for to use in my own classroom. Thanks Mr. Miller!

http://millersenglish10.blogspot.com/2009/01/warnings-from-1984-and-fahrenheit-451.html 

Since I was unable to include my comment as it is a teacher approved blog and I’m awaiting approval, I have included a screenshot below.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

